16.12.12, Week 70: Archive 15

by pbnb

Week 70 - 30.08.12

I’ve taken a lot of pictures this week, but I don’t really feel that any of them are appropriate for a blog post; they’re not really good enough. I’ve therefore voluntarily opted for an archive picture. This one was taken whilst I was on holiday in Spain this year (along with these two 26.08.12: Week 54, Spanish Lantern & 02.09.12: Week 55, Spanish Sea Mist). I was lying down on the patio by the pool at my friend’s house staring up at the clouds and enjoying the heat of the sun on my skin, when this group of clouds came across my field of vision. The shape and texture of the clouds reminded me of smoke rising from a fire on the one hand, and a feather on the other.

I really appreciate the simplicity of this shot. There isn’t much variation in colour or texture, but, to me at least, it’s still a captivating image that draws my attention. The colour of the sky is probably the best part of this image for me. The depth of the blue reminds me of the time I’ve spent in Spain whenever I look at it. The framing of the cloud is good because it’s centrally located within both the X and the Y axis. Capturing the wispiness of the cloud was particularly satisfying because it shows how ethereal it is; as if you could touch it but it’s just out of reach. This was all the more the case when I first saw the cloud because it entirely encompassed my field of vision. All I could see was the cloud and blue sky around it which meant there was nothing to realistically indicate how far away it was. It felt and feels very two dimensional.

This Time Last Year

18.12.11: Week 18, Backlit

Metadata

      • Date taken: 30.08.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/2500 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm