23.12.12, Week 71: The Hallways of Somerset House

by pbnb

Week 71 - 20.12.12

I took a friend of mine to London to go to an exhibition at Somerset House. It was on a bit of a whim as a surprise because I hadn’t run it past her, but Valentino: Master of Couture did not fail me. If you know someone who is into fashion, then I would highly recommend taking them along. Unfortunately, the weather was utterly miserable (shock), so we spent a lot of time inside. However, there was a lot going on at Somerset House for Christmas, so it was a blessing in disguise. We wandered around the Christmas stalls which consisted of a bunch of random pop up shops, one of which was a Christie’s hat sellers; my head was too big for the top hats, unfortunately. There was also a Tim Walker exhibition on, which was really interesting. In guessing why we were going to London, my friend had told me about it before we went, but I hadn’t seen any of his work. His photography is pretty weird, but it’s very impressive and I quite like the darker aspects of it. The exhibition is free, so if you’re interested and have a bit of time in London at any point, you should definitely go and have a look. The shot above was taken on the aforementioned wanderings around Somerset House.

I’m actually really pleased with the shot; I was worried it was going to be too dark because the lighting wasn’t great. I know it isn’t exactly a bright picture, but I quite like the way there is a fade between the top and bottom of the image and I like quite dark shots. I resisted bumping the ISO to 800 because I didn’t want to make the image too noisy. My camera body has a tendency to make images quite noisy, particularly with dark parts of the image like the floor and hallway in this shot. The shapes in the scene appealed to me because of their repetition throughout the frame. The arches above the doors which match the arched ceiling and the panelled doorways, as well as the line of lights running through the centre of the image. I’m also fond of the way that the space beyond the doorway at the end of the hall is dark as I think it adds a sense of foreboding to the image. The line of lights, both hung from the ceiling and their reflection on the tiles, and the converging lines of the coving draws the viewers’ attention to that space. The impact of this is to make the negative space the subject of this photo, an effect I really like but rarely manage to pull off.

This Time Last Year

Winter sunsets are beautiful. I haven’t actually seen a good one since I’ve been home because it appears the sun has died. Last year was better: 25.12.11: Week 19, Sunset from Spin Hill.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 20.12.12
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/60 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
