10.02.13, Week 78: The View from Apartment 65 (Part One)

by pbnb

Week 78 - 06.02.13

I haven’t been out much this week; it’s been a slow one. The weather has actually been surprisingly pleasant for a few days, although I’m not sure how much longer that will last. This time of year always produces fantastic sunsets, and if you’re a regular reader of this blog you’ll know how much I love the sky, clouds, and sunsets (each of those three words are all separate links). As I noted a few weeks ago, I am lucky to live in an apartment building with a fairly uninterrupted view to the West, and therefore get a beautiful view of the sun setting when it’s there to see. Due to the aforementioned pleasant weather there have been a string of beautiful sunsets to admire this week. I knocked up a panorama of four shots using the Microsoft Image Composite Editor, a great free application for those of us who don’t own Photoshop. I then cropped the original panorama down to create a more interesting image.

I have a great appreciation for shots which capture the sun’s rays shining through the clouds, as I have discussed here. I am pleased with doing just that on the horizon of this shot. The moodiness that is created by the darkness of the clouds and how bright the rest of the sky is is striking and gives the image a lot of depth. I also find that the marbled effect of the colours in the clouds further adds to the depth of the image, which is not always the case when taking pictures of sunsets. I think I’ve struck a good balance between showing enough of the darker foreground/bottom of the frame to contrast the rest of the image, but not too much so that it detracts from the rest of the scene. I often find that upon sorting through shots I have perhaps not managed to achieve this as well as I could have. Fortunately, selective cropping was possible for this shot, but it isn’t always appropriate.

This Time Last Year

A cold and damp student home’s blessing in disguise: 12.02.12, Week 26: Droplets.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 06.02.13
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/1000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 70mm
