18.12.11, Week 18: Backlit

by pbnb

Friday was the last day of this term, so my girlfriend and I went out for dinner together to celebrate before we went home on the Saturday. I thought it might be nice to go to the Trafford Centre to do some Christmas shopping and have a look around; I was wrong, it wasn’t our type of place, but we did have a good time with each other. In order to escape it we ate outside of the main shopping building in Frankie and Benny’s, which is where I took this shot. I thought it was about time I put up another image of her, I’ve been unusually restrained in talking about her on this medium.

Originally I wanted to take the image with my girlfriend directly under the light, but the padding in the seats prevented her from sitting back into it and she didn’t like the harshness of the light on her face. In the end I opted for an attempt at using negative space to create a more atmospheric shot. I like the way the light coming over the top of her head picks up the highlights in her hair and the texture in her jumper. My favourite part of the picture is the darkness of my girlfriend’s eyelashes and how they gently contrast the dull light of her cheek.

The softness of the background adds to the focus upon my girlfriend in the foreground and the fact that it is so brightly lit enables the use of negative space. The fact that the downlighter created a circular lighting in the frame gives the impression of a stylised vignette without actually having created it intentionally.

So we’re both now home from Manchester for the Christmas holidays and my next two posts will be on Christmas Day and New Year’s Day which is great timing for some aptly themed posts. I’ll have to see what I can muster in between all the work I have to do over the holidays.

Soundtrack:

This week I have mainly been listening to Pearl Jam’s Rearviewmirror (Greatest Hits 1991–2003), one of the best bands to come out of the nineties. Having watched Pearl Jam Twenty on television recently, a documentary looking back at the band’s history, I had a craving for their music which was always playing on my Zune when I was 17. The perfect music for supposedly angst ridden teenagers, of which  collects all the best songs such as ‘Alive’, ‘Even Flow’ and ‘Go’. I’ve missed their music, and being prompted to rediscover it was a pleasure, I would really recommend watching if you are at all interested in the band and its history.

Metadata:

      • Date taken: 16.12.11
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/30 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 35mm
