02.09.12, Week 55: Spanish Sea Mist

by pbnb

This shot was taken during the same holiday to Spain as last week’s image. I woke up one morning to find that the view of the sea was dramatically reduced due to a sea mist that had blown in on the wind. I decided to go for a walk around the cliff tops above my friend’s house to get a view from above the mist. I was out for about an hour, walking quite hard in the thirty five degree heat, but I think that the shots I got were well worth it. This has to be my favourite though.

To me, it looks like this picture could have been taken at a ski resort, as if I was half way up a mountain. I like the way that the mist seems to be swallowing the shoreline and the hills in the distance. The houses in the foreground would soon be covered by that same mist which hung around all day. The haziness in the sky and around the mist is frustrating because it makes it look as if it is overexposed, despite the fact that it was just bright due to the sun trying to burn through it. Even though it’s a bit of an issue from a photographic point of view, I do like the haziness of the image as it creates quite a surreal atmosphere.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 28.08.12
      • Aperture: f/10
      • Speed: 1/500 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 24mm
