24.03.13, Week 84: Archive 22

by pbnb

Week 84 - 08.09.10

This week has been chaotic to say the least. Deadlines for a variety of things including a dissertation section, an essay, and the lacrosse club’s development portfolio on top of the four hour journey home in a whiteout. Unfortunately, my photography has had to take a backseat yet again which is quite disappointing. Those of you who have read my about page will know that this blog was intended to drive me to take more and better pictures. Whilst it has undoubtedly achieved the latter, I have not been using my camera enough lately. I will endeavour to correct this, so watch this space!

This shot was taken on the way to London on a trip with my girlfriend. The windmill is called Wilton Windmill and is between Wilton and Great Bedwyn in Wiltshire, the county in which I have grown up. I’ve often driven past it and wanted to take a look as it is a beautiful and archaic building, having been built in 1821. As it was a lovely sunny day and we were in no rush to get to London, we stopped off to have a look. The weather is what really makes this picture for me; the light and the sky are just so beautiful.

Apart from the weather, I think the angle of the shot is really attractive. All the pictures I’ve seen of the windmill focus on it in its entirety, rather than taking a slightly different angle. I like the close up on the blades of the windmill and their positioning within the frame. By placing them diagonally, they draw the viewer’s eyes into the centre of the frame and ensure that they take in the whole of the image. I also really like the natural frame that they create in the top left of the shot and how it neatly encompasses the plane and its vapour trail. Obviously, that was entirely deliberate (sausage).

It’s terrifying to think that this was taken at the end of my gap year, just before I went to Manchester to start my degree. My university career will all be over come July when I graduate.

This Time Last Year

The best dog in the world: 25.03.12, Week 32: Hello and Goodbye.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 08.09.10
      • Aperture: f/2.0
      • Speed: 1/8000 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
