03.03.13, Week 81: Archive 20

by pbnb

Week 81 - 01.09.12

I took this shot the same night that I took this one, whilst I was on holiday in Spain last year. The image above was shot from the far side of Málaga’s port (point A on that map) and encompasses two of the spectacular buildings that are in the city. On the left is the cathedral (point B), and on the right is the Alcazaba (point C), a palatial fortification built by the Hammudid dynasty in the 11th century. According to Wikipedia, it is the best preserved alcazaba in Spain, a fact which I did not pick up when I went around it a couple of years ago. The structure in the foreground that runs along the far side of the port is a relatively new sheltered walkway that houses a couple of restaurants and is a general recreational area.

I spent quite a long time taking shots of the view as I walked along the far side of the port. It wasn’t until I was nearly at the end of the pedestrianised area that I could get both of the buildings in the frame. I am glad that I took the time to do so, however, as the image definitely benefits from the presence of both features. Although the shot has quite a lot of negative space in it, I think it really benefits from the excessive darkness. The black sky in the top of the frame and its reflection in the foreground frame the parts of the scene that are lit up and exaggerate their presence. I’m a big fan of reflections, as I am sure you will have noticed if you have been following this blog. The reflections in the water really caught my eye as I walked through the port and I’m glad that I have managed to replicate them here.

This Time Last Year

Shadows from a piece of potpourri: 04.03.12, Week 29: Potpourri.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 01.09.12
      • Aperture: f/14
      • Speed: 8.0 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 24mm
