03.02.13, Week 77: Archive 18

by pbnb

Week 77 - 20.12.12

I took this shot at Somerset House on the same day that I took this image for Week 71. I took a friend to an exhibition as a surprise, but I won’t repeat why we were there or what else we did as I described that in the original post. If you’re interested please go ahead and read it at the link in the first sentence.

I’ve chosen to post this image as an archive shot mainly because of the reflection on the tiles. I love the way that the arch and the columns are extended in a complete mirror of what is above the floor. However, the best part about it is the fact that the ground is wet. The wetness on the tiles provides the illusion that it is raining in the reflected arch, but dry in the actual arch. It’s quite a grimy and dark image which reflects the dullness of the weather that day. I am, however, quite partial to the darkness of the image, although I know quite a few viewers will not be as enamoured with it. The arch acts as a natural frame for the tree in the background, which becomes the subject of the image as a result. The tree, whilst it does not brighten the image, helps to break up the amount of grey stone that the image contains. I’m sure if I could replicate this shot with a brighter sky, it would probably be more striking, but the murkiness definitely appeals to me.

This Time Last Year

A long exposure in the tram tunnels under Piccadilly Station, Manchester: 05.02.12, Week 25: Under Piccadilly.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 20.12.12
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/60 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
