27.01.13, Week 76: Black Wormhole

by pbnb

Week 76 - 25.01.13

I took this shot in the same place as one that I took in an early post of mine: 30.10.11, Week 11: Wormhole. Every time I walk over the bridge between the Arndale shopping centre on the one side and Marks & Spencer and Selfridges on the other my attention is grabbed by the reflections in the glass. I had been desperate to take some pictures that I actually liked all week, particularly as I failed in that respect last week. I therefore took a few minutes out of a shopping trip with a friend to quickly snap the image above. Unlike the experience I had in October 2011, I did not have to wait long for the bridge to be clear as the shopping centre was mostly empty at the time of night that we was there. I can’t believe it was October 2011 when I took that shot; it feels like it was a few weeks ago, not nearly a year and a half.

I can’t remember walking across the bridge at night until the day that I took this image, but the reflection of the lights only heightens the appeal that it has for me. The interplay between light and dark throughout the frame is particularly appealing, as is the way that the varying angles of glass alter the reflections. The fading of light on the wooden floor is a nice aspect of the shot; both it and the light in the glass make it seem as if the viewer is moving out of the dark and into the light. I particularly like the shadows of the supporting wires that run across the panes of glass, it adds another aspect to the image and provides more lines to be altered by the changing angles of the glass. The image might benefit from being a little lighter so that there isn’t as much darkness towards the bottom and right hand side of the frame. However, I quite like the effect that it has in its current state because it emphasises the contrast between light and dark.

This Time Last Year

A beautiful girl on a beautiful beach in Spain. Of all the photos that I have taken, this is my favourite: 29.01.12, Week 24: Archive 3.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 25.01.13
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/60 sec
      • ISO: 500
      • Focal length: 24mm
