06.01.13, Week 73: Archive 16

by pbnb

Week 73 - 02.10.10

Not the best form starting the new year with an archive image, but that’s the way it is, I’m afraid. Unfortunately, this week has disappeared with the end of the Christmas period, and New Year. I have also had to start revising for my exams at the end of the month. Hopefully this will be the last set of January exams I will have to take, which is a very exciting prospect. I took the picture above when I first came to university in Manchester, so I thought it would be an apt picture to post as I am now nearing the end of my studies. The time has flown by and I am both excited and apprehensive about making the transition from academic life to the ‘real’ world. The factory is the same as the one I went to with my flatmate back in August, although, obviously this is the side of the factory that has been renovated. I have been interested in the building ever since I took this picture.

I like the beautiful blue sky, the light on the building, and the wisps of white cloud. However, my favourite part of this image is actually the reflection of the sky in the windows of the unlit building to the right of the frame. The light in the windows exaggerates the negative space around them. I also like the way the light fades from left to right on the rows of bricks. I always fells that the chimney looks out of place with the rest of the factory as it’s so tall and thin in comparison to the rest of the buildings. I wish we still built buildings out of bricks; the Georgian’s and Victorians definitely had their aesthetics sussed. I think the portrait orientation of the frame really makes the image, as it allows a direct comparison between the light part of the frame on the left and the dark part on the right. The only part of the composition that does bother me is the point at which the light and dark areas meet. It’s in the no man’s land between a third and a half of the way into the frame. It’s a shame, because otherwise I really like the image.

This Time Last Year

The view into a fire: 08.01.12: Week 21, Ashes.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 02.10.10
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/3200 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
