11.11.12, Week 65: Archive 14

by pbnb

I have actually taken a few pictures this week, but I’m not that pleased with any of them, so I’ve decided to use an archive image instead. The picture above was taken last week, on the Sunday in fact, so it’s nearly a picture for this week. It’s a view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge in Bristol, another Isambard Kingdom Brunel structure. I was at dinner at my brother’s house, and as I have wanted to take a picture of this view ever since he moved there, we drove up to the view point. It’s less than 10 minutes from his house and I only spent about 5 minutes there taking a couple of different shots, so it was a quick and easy trip.

I was quite lucky with the traffic on the road because there was enough of it travelling closely enough together to create an almost continuous light trail. This was especially good because it meant that I could use an exposure of 6 seconds, rather than a longer one. If I had had to use a longer exposure, the sky would have been a lot brighter than it currently is because of the light pollution from Bristol. I would have preferred for the sky to be less bright as it is, but I wouldn’t have had the light trail the way it is if I had opened the shutter for less time. It’s always a trade off between over exposure of one thing and under exposure of another when there is more than one light source in an image. Overall, I’m very pleased with the shot, the light trail is great and the bridge is nicely illuminated which adds a bit more height to the frame.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 04.11.12
      • Aperture: f/10
      • Speed: 6.0 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 40mm
