28.10.12, Week 63: An Avenue of Trees

by pbnb

I’ve come back home for about ten days as reading week gives me the chance to have a bit of a break from university and city life in general. A friend who lives near me at home suggested we go to Kilver Court in Somerset whilst the weather was nice on the Saturday. Kilver Court is described as a ‘designer emporium and gardens’ and the website gave the impression that it’s a lot bigger and more impressive than it was when we arrived. We weren’t really sure what to expect, but it’s really quite small and a lot of the building that it is in, an old brewery, is actually pretty ugly. The gardens, however, are beautiful and I’m sure some of the pictures will come up in future archive posts. The picture above, however, was taken in Wellington Wood which is nearby to Kilver. We got bored with Kilver Court so decided to go and look at Cranmore Tower that we had seen advertised on a sign from the road. It was a lot further away than we thought and took us quite a while to get there. The tower itself was very disappointing, and literally in the middle of nowhere with nothing there. The walk through the woods, however, was lovely.

Ever since I’ve had my camera, I’ve wanted to take a picture through an avenue of trees. I’ve tried it quite a few times and it has looked terrible, and I mean really terrible. I’d like to think that was because I was mostly trying to do it when I first got my camera, but I’m not sure thinking that would be entirely true. I’m really pleased with this shot though; the way the light comes through the top of the trees where they don’t quite meet sets off the shot as it highlights the top of the avenue. I’m also impressed with the speckling of light throughout the frame. It’s good because it shows the random holes in the canopy that let light through. It was a good time of year to take the shot too because autumn hadn’t set in fully enough to make the trees completely bare, but there is still a good coating of leaves on the floor. I’m a bit disappointed that I included quite so much foreground; it might have been better to tilt the camera up a bit and had a better balance between canopy and floor. The best part is the archway at the end of the shot though, I really like the way that looks as it’s so clearly defined. Now all I have to do is go back there on a misty winter morning and I might get the shot I’ve wanted to take for so long.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 27.10.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/50 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
