21.10.12, Week 62: Welcome to Autumnal Manchester

by pbnb

More essay writing this week, unfortunately. However, I have managed to get out with a friend who wanted to do some shopping in the city centre. The day was absolutely beautiful, so I came back with a fairly good selection of images. The building above is the Albert Hall which is Manchester’s town hall. I’ve been admiring the building since I came to university in Manchester, the architecture is beautiful. Utterly ridiculous in its decadence, but beautiful nonetheless. I’m going to a dinner inside it in four weekends’ time which should be a really good event. The inside is as beautiful as the outside, having spent a bit of time walking around it on a tour of the tower last year. I’m not sure that I’ll be particularly good company, I’ll probably just be looking at the room around me for most of the evening.

I loved the light on the tower; it has such a wintery/autumnal feeling to it. I’m always amazed by how much the light changes through the seasons, it makes everything look completely different. I was trying to get the ‘Welcome to Manchester’ banner in the centre of the two bare trees to make it part of the frame’s subject. Unfortunately, I think the tower takes most of the attention due to its jutting into the sky and being surrounded by blue rather than building. It’s nice to have the smaller tower in the right of the frame to kind of distract the viewer from the main tower and also to mirror it. It also makes the picture more even because without the spire of that structure, the picture would be very one sided in the top half of the frame. I like the silhouette of the bare trees in the foreground over the brightly lit building in the background. Admittedly it adds a bit of busyness to the frame which I normally wouldn’t be a fan of, but in this situation I think it looks good.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 21.10.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/320 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
