14.10.12, Week 61: The Trees by St. Mary’s

by pbnb

I’ve been pretty fed up with not having time to get out and take pictures for the past two weeks, so I made a special effort to get out for a walk around my new flat this weekend. I’ve been cooped up all weekend working on my first set of deadlines for this year, so the fresh air was much appreciated. There is a church quite near where I live which has been converted to apartments. Around the church is a group of buildings which, from what I can gather on the internet, were part of a larger complex which catered to helping the urban poor. They are now host to, amongst other things, a radio station and a nursery. The roof line in the image is of one of these buildings, the nursery, I think.

Predictably, for those of you who have read some of my other posts, I really like the contrast between light and dark throughout the frame. The roof and the limbs of the tree being dark in opposite corners of the frame allow the central parts to be focused upon more easily by the viewer as they contrast so markedly. This was the idea because the colours in the leaves and sky are incredibly striking, particularly the variety of leaf shades. I also like that the dark parts of the frame aren’t completely devoid of any detail; they’re not just silhouettes. I’m pleased with the angle of the shot which has made the roofline and the leaves virtually parallel. The angle of the shot has also created a band of sky that runs corner to corner taking the viewers eyes throughout the frame.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 17.10.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/2000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
