30.09.12, Week 59: Archive 12

by pbnb

Things have been pretty hectic with the beginning of term: trying to get everything organised for the university lacrosse club, which I am president of this year, and  for my own work. I haven’t been out with my camera this week because of it; one of a number of things that I’ve had to put on the back-burner for now. I’m putting up a shot from my archive because of it. This one was taken this summer whilst I was in Spain and is of the central streets in Málaga. It was a busy night in the city, as usual, and I got a lot of strange looks walking around with my tripod and camera. I never really understand why it’s such an odd idea taking pictures with a tripod, but people always seem perturbed by it.

I haven’t done many ghosting images before, but I’ve always thought they look good when other people do them. I love the street that this image is taken on, it always catches my eye when I go there. The buildings are really well turned out, and the shade that the San Miguel banners create is really appreciated in the midday heat. It’s even more striking at night with the line of street lights that converge together. I’m quite pleased with the ghosting of the pedestrians, particularly because of the trio sat on the bench who are relatively sharp amidst the blurs of the people who were walking. It’s a shame that the streetlights aren’t a bit taller so that they converge higher than the heads of the pedestrians. At their current height, they are a bit of a distraction.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 01.09.12
      • Aperture: f/22
      • Speed: 8.0 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 26mm
