16.09.12, Week 57: Archive 11, The View from Ikea (Part Two)

by pbnb

As I haven’t managed to get out with my camera this week, I thought I would post one of the other pictures I took from the top of Ikea last week. My flatmate and I arrived at about sunset, which was when this picture was taken; last week’s was taken after we had done our shopping and come back out. The buildings in the distance are those that make up Manchester city centre, the tallest one being the Beetham Tower which is also a Hilton Hotel. If you’ve read some of my older posts, you’ll know that I have a penchant for rays of light coming through the clouds. This image is a good example of that, but it hasn’t come out as well as it looked when I took the picture.

I really like the contrast between the silhouetted buildings in the bottom of the frame, the light patch in its centre and the darker sky that it fades into. Unfortunately, the image is very noisy, despite the ISO only being set to 400. I’ve not managed to find a good way to get Lightroom to convert pictures to JPEGs, which I think is the issue here as it is a panorama of several conversions stitched together. If anyone reads this and has any advice, drop me a line, it would be much appreciated. Pretty pleased with the image overall though, it’s got a nice sublime feel to it, and good to see Manchester receiving some sun.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 07.09.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/2000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
