09.09.12, Week 56: The View from Ikea (Part One)

by pbnb


I flew straight back from Spain to Manchester to start university for my final year; it’s a hard life, I know. I moved into the flat my friend and I chose during my visit in July. We weren’t quite satisfied with everything in the flat, and needed to get a few bits and bobs from Ikea to finish it off. I’ve been to the Ikea in Manchester a vast number of times, and every time I’ve been I’ve meant to take my camera with me. The time before this one, I was swearing profusely about not having my camera and managed to insinuate that I was angry with an elderly gentleman driving through the carpark in the opposite direction to us.

You can get to the roof of the carpark via stairs that go up the outside of the building. It provides you with an unobstructed aerial view of the road and roundabout below. I have always wanted to take a long exposure of a car going around a roundabout, so it was very nice to finally be able to do so. I am slightly disappointed that the spacing of the traffic meant that I couldn’t get a traffic trail that lasted the whole length of the road leading up to the roundabout; I think it would have made the picture look more complete. The car coming out of the Sainsbury’s carpark was a blessing, though, as it adds more breadth to the image.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 07.09.12
      • Aperture: f/20
      • Speed: 10.0 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
