29.07.12, Week 50: Feathers Above the Sea

by pbnb

Whilst we had a few days of nice weather, a close friend and I decided it would be nice to take a trip to the beach. I used to go to Durdle Door in Dorset most years for family camping trips, and having not been for a few years, we decided to go there. It was always a tradition of ours to swim through the door, and I had intended to do so with my friend. However, her galeophobia (word of the week) meant that seeing an admittedly large fish a couple of feet below us put her off the idea. I, however, did swim through the door, although I made the mistake of swimming against the waves that were being forced through the arch and I was pretty exhausted by the time I returned to shore.

We stayed until the sun had pretty much gone down, which was when I took this picture. The wisps of clouds caught my attention as I was lying on the pebbles; I haven’t noticed clouds of that nature in such a high number, close proximity, and similar shape before. I took quite a few pictures trying to get the beach to be a bit lighter without overexposing the sky, and as far as I could tell on the screen of my camera, I hadn’t managed it. However, looking at the image my monitor, I’m quite pleased with the subtlety of the beach and the two figures in its midst. The silver lining to the wave was another discovery that wasn’t made until I saw the image away from my camera.

Soundtrack

This week I’ve been listening to SKRILLEX’s music on YouTube, an example of the different music I’ve been listening to that I mentioned in week 47. I’m a big fan of how heavy the music is, even though it doesn’t generally consist of instruments in a traditional sense. Having read an article about the artist recently, I discovered he was the vocalist for the post-hardcore band From First to Last, who I used to listen to when I was a bit younger, which explains the heaviness. A couple of the tracks I like and am listening to whilst writing this are: ‘Kyoto‘ and ‘Bangarang‘.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 26.07.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/8000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 24mm
