22.07.12, Week 49: Plain Space

by pbnb

Those of you who have kept up with this blog will know that my home is near the edge of Salisbury Plain. I regularly use that vast expanse to escape; it’s probably the closest thing I have to emotional space, somewhere to go and reflect upon things. During the last few weeks I have been volunteering in Oxfam which has involved taking pictures to put items on their website. I didn’t know anything about it, before I started my volunteering but there is a lot of nice things on there for a good price – have a look. On the way home one day this week, I decided to drive over the plains and I was greeted by this view.

I have always admired pictures of sun rays streaming through clouds, but I have never managed to take a good picture of them. I understand that it’s easier with a polarising filter, but I don’t currently possess one. The fact that I have managed to catch the rays in this shot was a bonus for me, and I’m very pleased with the outcome. Considering the variation in brightness throughout the frame, not having any areas that are dramatically under or over exposed makes a change to many of the pictures of this nature that I have taken.

Soundtrack

It may seem somewhat of a boring repetition, but this is definitely another week soundtracked by silence.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 20.07.12
      • Aperture: f/10
      • Speed: 1/1000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 31mm
