15.07.12, Week 48: Broken Dials

by pbnb

A few months ago now, one of the friends I have who is also interested in photography put a picture up on Facebook of an old petrol pump that measured in gallons. He had just been to America, so I assumed that it was from that trip, but it turned out that it is from an old petrol station near to where we live. Ever since I saw the photos he put up I’ve been dying to go to the petrol station myself. A couple of our mutual friends play village cricket in a nearby village, so after watching one of their Sunday matches, we drove to the petrol station to take pictures.

There are three pumps outside of the petrol station, but after hopping over a gate we found a fourth that had no casing to it and was completely exposed to the elements and our lenses. I took a liking to the analogue style dial, despite its dilapidated state; I’m a big fan of Mad Men so it reminded me of the aesthetics and technology that are showcased during the programme. As I’ve said before, I struggle with cropped photos as I never seem to be able to compose them properly, but I think that this one has gone quite well. It might have been better if I had tried to even out the amount of back plate shown at the top and the bottom of the frame, but it is well spaced in the horizontal plane.

Soundtrack

This image and the petrol station we were at would be perfectly sound tracked by Nine Inch Nails’ Year Zero. I wrote about the dystopian concept album in the post from Week 46; probably slightly out of context considering the post contained a picture from the immaculately maintained Lacock Abbey. I will not write about the album again, but if you ever find yourself in this sort of place and have listened to the music, I hope it plays through your head in the same way it did mine.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 15.07.12
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/200 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 27mm
