08.07.12, Week 47: Canadian Gosling

by pbnb

The same week that my friend and I visited Lacock Abbey, we also went to Stourhead. I’ve wanted to visit the house and gardens for a long time as I have seen numerous pictures taken there that are all outstanding; it gives you the impression that you can’t fail to take good pictures there. Stourhead’s much larger than Lacock, both in terms of the buildings and the grounds, which makes for a lot of walking and also the chance to see a lot of wildlife around the place. This Canadian gosling is a perfect example of that.

I was standing less than a metre away from the bird and both of its parents, but none of them seemed bothered by my presence and the sound of my shutter. I’m really pleased with the shot, I love the way the softness of the gosling settles in with the softness of the grass. They are kind of a half-way point between a cygnet and a duckling; the size and shape of a cygnet, but the fluffiness and cuteness of a duckling. I like the framing, the bird is nicely positioned in the middle of the frame on both the horizontal and vertical planes.

I think the colours in the frame suit the colours of the gosling, they are soft; but enough of a colour difference not to disguise the bird. I also like the pose of the bird; the defiance of its stare at the lens was unexpected and quite helpful considering my thumping around in the grass. Although I am normally a fan of sharp and clear images, I actually like the aesthetic that the grass creates throughout the frame where it falls in and out of focus and seems to blur around the frame. It creates quite a candid atmosphere to the shot, something which isn’t necessarily apparent in many of my other shots.

Soundtrack

I haven’t listened to much music this week, so I don’t really have a particular artist/track/album to assign to this post. I would say, however, that I am becoming far more partial to music I have until recently regarded as awful; you might even call it mainstream, god forbid. Brace yourselves.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 01.07.12
      • Aperture: f/4.5
      • Speed: 1/250 sec
      • ISO: 640
      • Focal length: 58mm
