10.06.12, Week 43: Archive 9

by pbnb

This week’s shot follows on from the archive shot I posted two weeks ago. It was also taken in Melbourne whilst I was travelling during my gap year and is of an architectural focus, like that of the other post. I was walking through a pedestrianised tunnel underneath a building and as I came around the corner was greeted with this view. The weather wasn’t great, but it wasn’t raining at the time, so I could take the picture without worrying about getting my lens wet. In fact, if it hadn’t have been wet, there would not have been the reflection which makes the picture what it is.

It’s a shame that the building works were taking place at the time, as they interrupt the centre of the picture where the symmetrical plane would be otherwise. If this wasn’t the case, the building and its reflection would meet in the centre of the frame which would be a most pleasing image. The slope that the paving slabs follow exaggerates this issue as it changes the angle of reflection and therefore distorts it. Although they’re on the edge of the frame, I like the reflection that the posts create as they demarcate the border of the image.

Despite the overcast sky, I like the way there are two bands of cloud that merge into one another. The buildings have also remained bright, rather than dulling with the rest of the image, something that often happens with my images. The final aspect of the shot that I am pleased with is the perspective created by the joins in the tiles. I like the way the lines converge upon the building and act to draw the viewer’s eye to the subject of the image. However, this effect would benefit from the tower being slightly to the left of its current position as it is not absolutely central to the lines of the paving slabs.

Soundtrack

I’ve rediscovered Burial’s second album, Untrue, this week. It’s not really the type of music I tend to listen to that often, I’m not a big fan of the whole dubstep scene; I think the only appropriate time for ‘wubwub’ is here (watch from this point until 2:39, the rest of the video is probably not as interesting or relevant to the vast majority of you). The album is quite samey, but creates a mood which I haven’t found in any other music. It consumes you without really being noticed, something which must be very hard to achieve when writing instrumental music.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 02.07.10
      • Aperture: f/1.8
      • Speed: 1/2500 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
