20.05.12, Week 40: Lines at the MRI

by pbnb

Sorry guys, I’m cheating again, it’s exam time so please excuse my tardiness. After a fair while of being messed around by the NHS, I finally managed to get a physio appointment this week. I managed to organise it so that it was near my house at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. I’ve walked around the hospital’s campus quite a few times, and I took some pictures there last year. I remembered the buildings being quite interesting, as they often are at hospitals, so I took my camera with me this week. On the side of one of the buildings they have these columns of folded metal mesh which were quite interesting from the side. I’m not really sure whether their purpose was purely aesthetic, or if it served some sort of sun blocking function.

I was originally going to take the picture from front on, but they are quite irregularly spaced and I didn’t like the way it looked in the frame (O.C.D.). As I had walked past them on the way to the appointment, I noticed that they looked good from an upwards and diagonal perspective. This angle definitely came out better than the first one I tried. I hadn’t noticed it at the time, but I really like the way that there are a set of tiles in the top left hand corner of the image and also in the bottom right. The lines that make up the gaps between the tiles add to the edges of the image that wouldn’t be as interesting if it was plain. I also like the even spacing of the lines and the fact that they are straight.

I find the way that the mesh appears on each of the rectangles quite interesting; they all seem to have their own texture due to the angle of the shot. There isn’t all that much that I dislike about the image, but I’m disappointed that the windowpanes didn’t have more of an interesting reflection in them. I think it would add to the picture by breaking up the similarity of colours and textures which exist throughout the frame. The dirtiness of the one that is closest to the bottom right corner of the image bugs me too. Unfortunately I can’t control everything in pictures when they are taken in public.

Soundtrack

Well having said last week that I’d let you know what I thought about Mumford & Sons’ album, I’m afraid to say that I am quite disappointed. It’s received so much hype that I expected it to be a lot more than it was. I think the banjo also really bothered me; to me, it distracts from the rest of the band’s sound. This week I am listening to the XX’s album, XX, while typing this. It’s a very melancholy sound and is great for indulging yourself in when you’re feeling that way. It often makes me feel quite tired, and is a good listen after a day spent in the sun as it helps you to wind down and chill out.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 13.05.12
      • Aperture: f/2.8
      • Speed: 1/8000 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 36mm
