08.04.12, Week 34: Archive 7

by pbnb

Those of you who are regular readers of this blog will know that this post is a little bit late, my apologies, but for that reason I’m just going to keep it short and talk about the picture. This image was taken around this time last year when my girlfriend and I were at home during the Easter holidays of our first year at university. I had had the idea of blowing dandelion spores at the camera for quite a while, but had never quite got around to actually taking the shot. It took the pair of us quite a while to get an image we were both happy with, which was mostly to do with my inability to get the spores in focus. However, we also had the added problem of young dandelions which were not ready to release their spores. This made blowing hard enough without making a silly face almost impossible, but we got there in the end with this shot. We both had a lot of fun taking the pictures and laughing at the less successful ones.

There are a few things that I’d change about the image if I have another go at it in the summer. Although it’s impossible to judge where the spores are going to fly or how they’ll group, it would have looked a lot better if there was a higher number of spores within the area of focus. This could be done by increasing the f. stop, but I really like the bokeh of the rest of the image as it draws the viewer’s attention to the individual spores. It’s a shame, because the group of spores in the bottom left corner that are just out of focus would have been the perfect number if they had been in focus. Despite the white sky, the day was beautiful and it is only a result of its haziness that prevents there from being a rich blue behind the oilseed rape, particularly in the right hand side of the image which looks a bit bare.

The way in which I positioned my girlfriend in the image also isn’t ideal either. If the right hand side of the frame had just included her shoulder, the spores would have had a bit more space to group and probably would have added to the image. Despite this, I am really pleased with the other aspects of my girlfriend in the picture, such as the way she’s holding the dandelion and how her neck and shoulders look. I look forward to taking more pictures of her with my new lens as it’s ideal for portraits, but I’ll have to wait until the summer for that.

Soundtrack

Although it’s not directly connected, this picture always makes me think of Coldplay’s ‘Hurts Like Heaven’, which is the second track on Xylo Myloto. Now, I know I’ve mentioned that album in a previous post, but the reason it reminds me of this is that my girlfriend always says how happy that song makes her feel. This picture is from a point in time when we were completely unharrassed by anything. There were no encroaching deadlines, exams were far enough away that we didn’t have to think about them, and we were at home just doing nothing and enjoying what turned out to be the best weather of the year. A time of happiness, which is why this picture is connected to that song.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 19.04.11
      • Aperture: f/3.5
      • Speed: 1/2000 sec
      • ISO: 250
      • Focal length: 35mm
