01.04.12, Week 33: Archive 6

by pbnb

As I’ve spent most of the week lying in a hospital bed without my camera, this week’s will have to be a post from the archive. I know this type of post has been pretty frequent recently, I’ll try and make up for that, but things could be tricky as I am going to be pretty fragile for the next three weeks. I’ve got a few still life type shots in mind, so there should be a few that come up in the next couple of weeks. I’m also back at home now, so those type of shots are easier to pull off.

This image was taken whilst I was on holiday in Spain last year. My girlfriend’s house has views out to sea, so every night there are amazing views of the moon coming around over the waves. I took shots most nights, but I think this one is my favourite. I love the way that there doesn’t need to be anything in it other than the moon and the waves. I have always found simplistic images difficult because there isn’t always enough to make the picture good. It seems to be good in this image though.

My only slight issue with the shot is the little turret that is just visible in the bottom right hand corner. I couldn’t frame the picture in any way which enabled me to get everything else that I wanted in the picture and get rid of the turret. It’s a shame because I am otherwise very pleased with the image and it’s been pretty much photobombed by it. I’m also disappointed by the pixelated nature of the sky around the moon itself. I’m not quite sure why there is so much noise in that part of the picture, but it’s something that seems to happen periodically when there is high contrast between the dark and light parts of the frame. Possibly something to do with the white balance settings, a part of my camera I’m not very familiar with.

Soundtrack

Whilst I was in hospital I didn’t listen to a lot of music because I spent most my time watching the television. I did, however, manage to make my way through the Postal Service’s album Give Up. The band is made up of Death Cab for Cutie’s lead singer, Ben Gibbard, and a music producer called Jimmy Tamborello. It’s an album that my girlfriend and I used to listen to a lot when we were first together, much like Asthmaboy’s Later Days. Interestingly, that link takes you to another Archive post with another picture from the holiday during which I took this week’s photograph.

The song ‘Recycled Air’ struck a chord with me because the window in the hospital room only opened about an inch and I wasn’t allowed to go outside to get some fresh air. It made me feel horrible for the three days of beautiful sunshine that I missed, no matter the number of photographs I could have taken in that time. The song itself is about being on a plane and made me think about the next time I might be, hopefully flying to America.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 17.07.11
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/1250 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 35mm
