11.03.12, Week 30: Archive 5

by pbnb

I’ve spent most of this week frantically researching for an essay which I need to get done before this Wednesday. Wednesday is not the deadline, that’s not until the 22nd of March. No, Wednesday is the day I’ve been waiting for for six months now, and one which is going to require a lot of patience and preparation. Wednesday is the day that I can start on the long road to recovery from the injury that has prevented me from pursuing my other favourite hobby. However, it prompted me to think about times when it has impacted this hobby.

This shot was taken in the centre of Manchester and the mirrored imaged is created by the edge of the Urbis Building. I was and still am infuriated by the fact that I couldn’t close off the mirroring effect entirely by lowering myself to get closer to the glass. My knee prevented me from crouching and therefore stopped me from pulling off the effect that I desired. Despite my infuriation, I am still undecided as to whether the image would have benefited from not having the gap in the sky. As it is, the gap serves to show the viewer the split between the actual and the reflection. However, the surface of the Urbis Building makes that somewhat unnecessary, so it might have been better to just be whole.

As those of you who read this blog on a weekly basis will well know, I have a thing for symmetry. Therefore, playing around with the theme in this image was a throughly enjoyable experience for me as it gave me room to experiment with that notion. Not to labour the point, but the perfectionist in me is frustrated by the fact that I couldn’t get lower and closer to the glass in order to make the axis of symmetry more horizontally central across the frame. The edge of the Urbis Building is also not quite vertical, although that’s likely to be an effect created by the shape of my lens as much as anything else.

Looking at the image again, I wonder whether it could benefit from a more colourful sky, as the drab nature of the buildings and paving remove any impact of colour. However, it would have to be an evenly blue sky without any clouds in order for the reflection to be as subtle as it is with this overcast sky.

Soundtrack

I haven’t particularly listened to any music this week, so I thought I might just suggest silence as the soundtrack. Something which I don’t ever get here in Manchester, but which I revel in when I’m at home in the countryside. Even then, it’s rare, but when there isn’t any wind I can cycle onto Salisbury Plain and sit in a field and just hear nothing.

Metadata:

      • Date taken: 02.10.11
      • Aperture: f/3.2
      • Speed: 1/1600 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 35mm
