26.02.12, Week 28: Archive 4

by pbnb

 I’ve been busy this week, but I’m not really sure what with. More to the point, its disappeared without any photographs being taken. Well, by me at least. As a result of this, I am posting another archive picture this week and it happens to be one that I had toyed with posting a while ago, but decided upon another picture instead. The other picture wasn’t necessarily better photographically, but it had a better story behind it which is why I chose to post it in this one’s stead. Perhaps predictably, this post is therefore going to be more skewed towards analysis than background story.

The image was taken on the reverse of the St. John’s Wood Church in London. I had driven my mother to the nearby hospital for an appointment and spent the time taking pictures outside rather than in a waiting room inside. As I have an appreciation for even spacing and symmetry, the window caught my attention. In my eyes, the even meshed spacing of the two rectangular panes and the symmetrical semicircular pane at the top warranted a picture simply for their shape. It wasn’t until I stood in front of the window trying to frame the image that I took notice of the reflections in the windowpanes.

The panes all look like they have separate reflections from one another, but it is in fact an optical illusion. There happened to be a fence that if carefully positioned allowed the two rectangular panes to seem like they were reflecting a different image. By framing the image so that the top of the fence ran along the wider border between the two rectangles, I could make it seem like the sky started in a separate position. Furthermore, the semicircular pane at the top of the window is slightly tilted backwards so that its reflection is different to the rectangular pane directly below it. Purely by nature of its shape, the semicircular pane also creates the impression that the image is being rotated throughout its individual sectors.

Besides the framing of the reflections, I’m very pleased with the framing of the window within the image too. It’s fairly evenly positioned vertically so that there is a relatively even expanse of brick at the top and bottom of the picture. Also, the concentric semicircle that’s created by the bricks extends and frames the top pane of the window. It also provides a dark outline to exaggerate the presence of the reflection. The Church is Georgian, having been built in 1814 and therefore has the brickwork characteristic of this and the Victorian period. I’m not sure why, but I have always had an affection for this type of building and this type of window, it’s possibly what caught my eye in the first place.

Soundtrack

This week I haven’t repetitively listened to anything in particular but I am currently listening to Hell is for Heroes’ first album, Neon Handshake as I write this post. Hell is for Heroes are a sadly underappreciated British band that I used to listen a lot when I was in my middle teens. I managed to see them in Birmingham with a group of my friends and I have to say they are one of the best live bands I have seen. Unfortunately, they disbanded in 2008 and haven’t resurfaced since. It appears this was largely to do with a sense of being fed up of life in a band and wanting to spend more time with their young families. I thoroughly enjoy all of their albums, and if you haven’t already you should take the chance to listen to some of their music if you’re partial to ‘melodic post-hardcore’. The end of the previous sentence is why I refuse to use any genres in my music library.

Metadata:

      • Date taken: 02.11.11
      • Aperture: f/1.8
      • Speed: 1/320 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
