04.12.11, Week 16: Mixed Emotions

by pbnb

I’ve been trapped in my room again this week, it’s essay time, but I’m taking a quick break to write this post. I took this week’s picture from my bedroom window just before sunset; the clouds aptly describe the day’s weather an eclectic mixture of blue sky, sunshine, storm clouds, hail and rain.

Having done an A level in English literature that focused on gothic texts, I’m always aware of pathetic fallacy; the mixture of weather and colours reflecting my mixed emotions regarding the end of this term. On the one hand Christmas and all the festivities and photo opportunities that come with it, but on the other the threat of exams in the new year and the looming date when my girlfriend gets on a plane to spend 6 months at an American university.

Putting my own over-analysis of the picture’s deeper meaning to one side, I’m really pleased with the shot, despite my usual obsession with sharp images. The soft but dramatic clouds remind me of Victorian paintings and I’m really pleased with the way the setting sun has highlighted the left hand side of the clouds giving them a real tangibility that I’ve often struggled with when taking pictures of clouds. I’m also glad that the picture has given me the opportunity to show another side of my photography, something different to what I’ve uploaded prior to this.

I’m not quite sure how we’ve all got to December so quickly, but I hope my posts are still interesting to read.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 03.12.11
      • Aperture: f/1.8
      • Speed: 1/8000 sec
      • ISO: 250
      • Focal length: 35mm
