13.11.11, Week 13: Archive 2

by pbnb

This week has been a bit of a nothing week; I don’t really feel that I’ve achieved anything and it’s just evaporated. Needless to say, I haven’t been out with my camera to take any pictures, so I’m giving you another one from the vault.

This shot was taken during the travelling I did in my gap year whilst on a ferry going through Sydney harbour on the way back to East Balmain from Watson’s Bay. We’d had a good day looking around Sydney; apart from walking around, I’d climbed one of the towers of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and we’d been to Doyles Restaurant in Watson’s Bay for some classic Australian fish and chips. I thought taking a photo of the Opera House from the opposite side to Circular Quay would be a nice angle as I hadn’t seen many shots of it from that side. The late afternoon sun highlighting the front of the building added to the ambience of a busy day that was winding down to a relaxing end.

I was lucky enough to have a sail boat come across in front the ferry as we were going past which added some foreground interest to an otherwise unoriginal image. The reflection of its sail in the ripples of the waves adds a subtle increase to the variety of textures within the image. Unfortunately, I wasn’t as capable with a camera as I am now, so having an aperture of f/1.8 meant that the rest of the image wasn’t as sharp as it could have been otherwise, it probably would have been much better shot at somewhere around f/5.

Hopefully next week’s image will be of a successful attempt at doing some ghosting, but I’m not making any promises.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 15.07.10
      • Aperture: f/1.8
      • Speed: 1/6400 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
