06.11.11, Week 12: Return to Castle Street

by pbnb

I didn’t take all that many pictures at home during reading week and the ones that I did take I wasn’t that impressed with, particularly in comparison with what I’ve taken since I’ve been back in Manchester. Last night I went to the bonfire night celebrations in Platt Fields Park and today I returned to Castle Street, the area I went to on the Photowalk on the 2nd of October.

The fireworks proved a significant challenge, even after reading a tutorial on how best to shoot them in DSLR Magazine this month, however this was mainly due to the fact that I don’t own a remote shutter release so I was forced to shoot in bulb mode by holding down the shutter release on the camera and nullifying the stability provided by my tripod. Today, however, has been a much better day for photos, so much so that I had trouble choosing which one to put up. Those of you reading this that are friends with me on Facebook might have been treated to my album updates clogging up your news feed; if you’re interested in the rest of the set, they’re up there.

The reason I settled on the image above is because it combines the cityscape at sunset with a long exposure of a train which I was trying to represent as the movement of human life within a built environment. I also appreciated the evenness of points of interest throughout the image as there aren’t any particularly boring parts that don’t add to the picture; something I have struggled with in the past when taking cityscapes. If the picture grabs your attention it’s really worth having a click on it and looking at it in a higher resolution; I don’t think the smaller image above does it justice.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 06.11.11
      • Aperture: f/20
      • Speed: 8.0 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
