30.10.11, Week 11: Wormhole

by pbnb

After saying I would go to the cathedral last week, I actually spent more time in the Arndale shopping centre. This shot is of the bridge connecting the Arndale to Selfridges and Marks & Spencer, the reflections in the glass over the bridge and the web of connected lines were what interested me. I had to wait quite a long time before the bridge was empty, when there were people across it their reflections distracted from the more subtle reflections of its structure which is what I wanted to be the focus of the image; without it being empty the image was quite confusing and overly busy.

I particularly like the mixture of textures and colours between the glass, metal and wood as they add to the fullness of the image; the wood makes the picture far warmer and the metal and glass are the basis of the reflections. It’s a shame that I had to take the picture in a patch of cloud as the scene was a lot more dramatic with sunlight pouring through the glass, but I wanted a shot without people in it so I decided that was a more important consideration.

By focusing on the furthest side of the tunnel and using a large aperture I created a softness in the foreground of the image which allows the glass to melt away at the right hand edge of the frame. I’m at home for reading week now, so next week’s image will probably be a bit more rural than of late.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 26.10.11
      • Aperture: f/2.5
      • Speed: 1/1000 sec
      • ISO: 640
      • Focal length: 35mm
