09.10.11, Week 8: Autumnal Colours

by pbnb

The weather this week has been pretty poor; odd bouts of sunshine in the midst of otherwise rainy days at the beginning of the week followed by a drizzly weekend which has prevented me from taking many pictures. I’ve been taking my camera to lectures with me most days as I walk through a park near my house on the way. Whitworth Park has an art gallery and a good collection of rapidly baring trees which have provided a carpet of autumnal colours. One of the few times I walked through the park when it wasn’t raining I took the picture above to try and get a representation of the colour of the leaves that adorn the floor.

I used an aperture of f/1.8 in order to have a narrow depth of field that creates a large bokeh of the mingled textures and colours and a small area of sharp focus. The idea behind this selective focusing was to create the impression of deterioration that will occur as the leaves biodegrade. I was lucky with the light as it was relatively early in the day so the rays were at an angle where they highlighted the front of the leaves and created fairly long shadows; I feel this has added some extra texture to the image by creating shadow duplicates of the leaves.

I currently have an on going project which consists of taking a picture within Whitworth Park every day in order to chronicle the progression from early Autumn through to Winter. I intend to make a video or a slideshow at the end of it, so I will post that up here when I feel I’ve finished with it.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 06.10.11
      • Aperture: f/1.8
      • Speed: 1/8000 sec
      • ISO: 320
      • Focal length: 35mm
