11.09.11, Week 4: Cherub of the Octagon Room

by pbnb

This weekend I went to my girlfriend’s brother’s wedding party which was hosted at the Orleans House Gallery in the Octagon Room. I took my camera as the groom had asked me to take pictures whilst he was doing his duty all day. We arrived fairly early, so I had time to have a look around the building and at its features. The Octagon room had several uplighters placed around to bring out the sculptures and artwork in the room. One of the uplighters particularly highlighted the cherub’s face in contrast to the shadow on the back of the arch that it sat in. It’s probably a cliche, but I felt that this lighting added to the sense of the cherub’s innocence by illuminating its face; or in opposition to this, made it seem that the cherub was looking out over the room watching what was happening.

The rest of the room was a mix of bits of artwork and decoration that were quite flamboyant and well preserved and parts that were poorly maintained or missing. It made the room fell slightly peacemeal, but it is a beautiful place to hold that sort of occasion.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 10.09.11
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/80 sec
      • ISO: 400
      • Focal length: 35mm
