28.08.11, Week 2: Blackberry Picking

by pbnb

This face will feature on here often, I am sure. Both it and the person it belongs to inspire me when I’m behind the lens and when I’m without it. This particular photo was taken on a day we went blackberry picking, the stains of the juice seeped into the wicker of the basket we used.

Reflections fascinate me, I’ve been trying to capture images within an image ever since I started taking photographs. I wanted to take a portrait that would remind us of what we had been doing that day; so I made sure the basket of blackberries was illuminated by the sun and reflected in the glasses. The fact that the basket is reflected in the darkness of the glasses was intended to make the viewer focus on it. I also intended the brightness of the sunlight shining through her hair to frame both her face and the reflected image of the basket of blackberries.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 21.08.11
      • Aperture: f/8.0
      • Speed: 1/160 sec
      • ISO: 200
      • Focal length: 35mm
