21.08.11, Week 1: Port Isaac

by pbnb

This picture was taken on a family trip to Port Isaac, the setting for ITV’s drama Doc Martin, on a day characteristic of this year’s British ‘summer’; miserable. Because of this, I chose to shoot at a relatively high ISO in order to make the pictures brighter without sacrificing speed which has unfortunately made it quite grainy.

To my surprise, whistling at the seagul actually made it look at me so I could focus on it focusing on me. I’m quite pleased with the combination of foreground grass and background grey sea, but I feel that the fir tree disturbs the split between the two colours. The idea of this blog is to try and make me realise and think about these things while I’m taking a photograph rather than noticing once I have it on the computer. Hopefully there’ll be an improvement in this kind of error as the weeks roll on.

Metadata

      • Date taken: 16.08.11
      • Aperture: f/5.0
      • Speed: 1/1250 sec
      • ISO: 800
      • Focal length: 122mm
